Is the grass truly greener on the other side?


Instead of comparing our lot with that of those who are more fortunate than we are, we should compare it with the lot of the great majority of our fellow men. It then appears that we are among the privileged. – Helen Keller

Is the grass truly greener on the other side?

Do you ever feel that you’re always getting the short end of the stick?

Or do you constantly compare your life to others’ lives?

We are bombarded with daily images of the posh lifestyles of celebrities. Their expensive wardrobes and status can entice even the happiest person to drool over such luxury.

But by thinking about the world as a whole, you’ll find that your own life is wealthy beyond compare.

Make a short list of some of your overlooked privileges. Owning a car (or two!), having access to television, computers, drinkable water, a respectable wage at your job, and all of the freedoms you enjoy that are a foreign idea to many people around the world.

Be grateful for your life and over time, maybe you will see that your plot in life is someone else’s “greener grass.”

(This was today’s topic from SparkPeople’s Daily Reflections)

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

I took a class a few years ago and the topic was about being thankful.  We always have to thank Allah (God) for everything we have.  Anytime we are feeling low or sad about our current situation we should never look (and compare ourselves) at what the people who have more than us have.  In order to appreciate all that we have, and the situations we are in, we should always remember those who are less fortunate than we are.

I never forgot that lecture.

 

This entry was posted in This and That. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is the grass truly greener on the other side?

  1. Umm Aaminah says:

    Salaam sis. You are so right! I had always thought myself to be a grateful person… and then I traveled to India. After staying for 6 weeks and meeting some of the poorest people I’ve ever imagined (and yet the most sharing and gracious) I realized exactly how “rich” I was in comparison.

    When I went home, I actually felt smothered by all of my possessions. It’s amazing how little we truly need.

  2. I love this post! So true! And I love the header you have (which I don’t usually see as I read your posts in google reader).

Leave a Reply

