Struttin’ Her Stuff


Stupid is as stupid does

A British woman stripped down to her bikini at Dubai Mall after being confronted by a group of Muslim women about the way the Brit was dressed.    Read the article here.

All I can say is that she (the British woman) is a stupid shit

These people come here to the UAE as a “guest”.  I don’t care if you are visiting here or been working here for the past 10 to 20 years.  You, the expat, are a ‘guest’ of the UAE.  Have some consideration of the local laws and the culture and traditions of this country.  Show some respect.  The citizens of this country are not asking you to don an abaya and shayla and cover yourself up but come on now…show some modesty…show some respect.

In the paper it said that there are signs and LCD screens posted in the malls that visitors should dress modestly.  This is a recent development because this was never the case before.  I would go to Deira City Center and see women wearing their hoochie-mama-short-shorts…butt cheeks all peaking out.  Stupid Idiots.

The kiddos and I went to Dubai Mall last week and I didn’t see any signs calling for modesty.  We got off the bus and a crowd of us were walking into the mall behind a Aussie man wearing short-shorts.  WTF????????  Nasty.

Hey Mr. or Miss Tourist or Mr. or Miss Expat if you can’t follow the laws here and show the respect due to the local citizens of this country then go back to where you came.  You aren’t wanted or welcome here. I am not the only one feeling this sentiment.

I am upset.

Over and Out.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Struttin’ Her Stuff

  1. Jasmine says:

    Do you feel the same about Niqab in a western country I wonder?

    • Pancake says:

      Assalamu alaikum,

      I totally agree with your sentiment, and we live in US. Many women here, including Christian and Jewish women here in the states are irked by nearly-naked people strolling the stores and parks. You can’t go anywhere without your kids staring at people with private parts on display. Yesterday my 3 year old pointed at some women in the store with super low cut tank tops, and said “Mommy look boobs!” Moral degeneration 😦

  2. B says:

    Oooo I’m wondering the exact same thing. I’m a Muslim but don’t 100% agree with the niqab in the UK. Completely parallel to this scenario but I think if it’s making anyone feel uncomfortable then Muslims should also abide the the UK’s culture too. Obviously I don’t mean let’s all strip down to our bikinis but I think the niqab is one step too far.

    Prob gunna get bashed with hate right about now but tough shit.

  3. MaryAnn says:

    All that I am saying is if a person visits a Muslim country that they should respect the laws, religion, culture and traditions. What may be appropriate in their own country will not be the case in a country that they are visiting. YKWIM? A few years ago there were two British expats having sex on Dubai’s beach. Is that appropriate behaviour? Hell no! I don’t understand what these type of people are thinking.

    Jasmine and B: First of all, I do not wear the niqab. Hijab is obligatory. If I were back home in the US and they made the niqab illegal because of security reasons I would support that. But if the US made the hijab illegal, I would still wear it and fight for my right to wear it or move to a Muslim country.

    Pancake: The moral decay of society leads to actions like the British woman displayed. No decency whatsoever…

    Thank you all for your comments. 🙂

  4. aSalaam uAlaikum

    Love the blog…your honesty is like a glass of water with three ice cubes…..refreshing.

    Keep it up, and check mine out if ya like.

    http://www.veiledcouture.blogspot.com

    Ma’Salaama

    • MaryAnn says:

      As Salaam Alaikum,

      Aww, thank you so much for your comment and stopping by 🙂 I have visited your blog before…very nice, MashaAllah ♥

      p.s. yeah SubhanAllah fasting can do that to the brain, LOL 😛

  5. Moon says:

    I write about exactly the same in my blog, some respect is needed. I c all those naked bodies here in bahrain n they have no respect whatsoever for our conservative culture and Islam, stupidity..
    Adore ur blog xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

