Summertime: Love It or Leave It or…


Remember to count your blessings and be thankful.

Used to when I was little, I would get very excited when summertime would come along.  It meant that school was over for 3 months.  It meant a vacation renting a house at the Texas coast or renting a cabin in Marble Falls, Texas.  Summertime meant non-stop glasses of iced tea and Kool-Aid, BBQs, picnics, ice cold watermelon sucks, almost daily trips to the library, the big 4th of July bash on Lackland AFB, Friday night wrestling on TV :)….so many things.  Ahhhh the memories!

But now, I don’t love summertime nor do I have the option of leaving summertime behind in the awfully hot and humid Middle East.  It is just too darn hot to do anything.  (Drag out the word “anything”).  MashaAllah for all of the people who are able to go somewhere else in the world where the weather is cooler.

I really, really hate summer here in the UAE.  The kiddos and I hibernate in the cool confines of my home all summer long.  Each day during summer we worry if we will be one of the unfortunate ones of the day who will go without electricity for hours on end (Sharjah is famous for its electricity failure during summertime). 

Vacations are out of the question right now.

But then in the end I do count my blessings.  Alhamdulilah. 

We have air conditioning and a generator to use if the electricity should go out.  Alhamdulilah.

We live in a country where it is peaceful.  Alhamdulilah.

We have a roof over our heads, food to eat, and running water.  Alhamdulilah.

We don’t have to work outside in the heat like the poor construction workers.  Alhamdulilah.

There are so many things to be thankful for.  I just have to stop myself, contemplate, and remember everything that I have to be thankful for.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

