Things That Make Him Go Eeewww!!!


My husband is so finicky.

My husband is Arab and I am an American.  Our tastebuds are totally different.  I grew up most of my life in America and so have been exposed to a lot of different tastes of the cultures found there and my husband, well as I wrote he is an Arab.  LOL!

So these are a few of the things that make him go “Eeewww”….

He thinks that eating a tuna fish sandwich and having a cup of coffee (my breakfast this morning) are Eeewww.

Yesterday for lunch I made Pineapple Chicken for me and the kiddos.  Sweet seasoning with chicken?  Pineapple with chicken?  Uh-uh!!! First he thought that the pineapple was potatoes and then I told him what it was and he said that I was weird.  I replied that his three other children were weird too!  LOL

Fried rice with eggs….Eeewww!

LOL!  He is just like a little kid!

The food I cook has to be spicy and flavorful.  If the food that I cook resembles anything Arab, Indian, Iranian, or Mexican he is okay with it, loves it…just as long as there is no sweet flavorings in it.

Lunchtime is the main meal of the day over here where we live.  So I start cooking lunch at around 9am and I have to have it all finished at around noon.  He won’t eat casseroles or anything just thrown together in a crockpot.  He calls is “jail food”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Things That Make Him Go Eeewww!!!

  1. Maryam says:

    LOL! are our husbands related???

  2. MaryAnn says:

    LOL, I wonder if they are all like that!

  3. Texan in UAE says:

    MaryAnn, I think our husbands are cousins. LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL :))) made me lol really. LOL L:)) ARABS!!! you gotta love'em!

  4. NeverEver says:

    HAHAHAHA, oh gosh… oh gosh.wow. hilarious. I know what you are talking about.It's like if they can taste what kind of meat it is there is just NOT enough flavor on it. :-Pbtw, your name mishmish like apricot? i love apricots :-)Thanks for coming by my blog, I am exited to read more from you!

  5. Twizzle says:

    as-salaam aleikum wa rahmatullah, aha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!!! that is hilarious about "jail food" you know, once I tried to make shephard's pie once and didn't have enough mashed potatoes to put on top but thought a thin layer would be enough. after baking it all the mashed potatoes dissolved into the beef/sauce mixture and my husband said it looked like "jail food" LOL my husband is pretty adventurous with food but he stops at raw fish LOL my MIL is a bit adventurous for an old Emirati woman. for some reason I found it just really extra cute one day watching her eat a taco that I made…. and she loved it LOL

  6. Twizzle says:

    oh, I forgot to add……..even as an American myself,a tuna sandwich and coffee?…………………………………………………………………. ewwwww LOL

  7. Nzingha says:

    Mr. Man has some of those quirks although he will eat food from a crock pot.. yea I guess he realizes he is in jail.. for life lol

  8. MaryAnn says:

    Well, Moroccans are the only Arabs that I know that do like sweetness in their foods, they will add the apricots, raisins, and honey to some dishes. So maybe I should have been more specific and generalized Gulf Arabs, LOL.Texan: Yeah, maybe it is just a Khaleeji Arab thing, LOL :)NeverEver: MmmHmm, exactly, so true. I have to spice up his food and wonder why buy the meat or chicken anyway? LOL And yes, MishMish is apricot, I love them too! :)Twizzle: My husband will eat raw fish, in fact he loves sashimi (me too!). MashaAllah on your MIL trying your cooking my MIL never would she just gave me "the look" LOL. And well yeah I had no Pepsi to go with my sandwich and I needed caffeine!Nzingha! Hi! LOL. Thanks for stopping by! ♥

  9. Melissa says:

    That's so funny he calls crock pot meals or casseroles jail food! My husband used to be picky, he's not anymore! Alhumdulilah, as long as I don't ask him what's for dinner, he'll eat whatever I serve.

  10. MaryAnn says:

    Melissa: Alhamdulilah he is that way, MashaAllah you are lucky, LOL.

  11. Jasmine says:

    My ex is Egyptian and he can’t stand really spicy food, being from the UK I adore spicy food and curries but he’s more used to oily, vegetabl-y Mediterranean food.

Leave a Reply

