A Cup of Tea is Always Better When…


Why does a cup of tea always taste better at someone elses house?  No matter where I go it just does.  If I go and buy tea from a tea stand it does not taste good and I end up throwing it out but tea from a friend’s house always tastes so wonderful.

I have a really good friend from Kenya who makes a very lovely cup of tea.  I enjoy and look forward to going to her house whenever she invites me…mostly for the company but especially for her tea!  I once I asked her for the recipe for this lovely, milky tea and she gave me her recipe, “A little bit of this, a pinch of that, half a can of this, and only a teaspoon of Kenyan tea leaves, and this much water to this point on my pot.” Well, I don’t know of a place where I can buy Kenyan tea leaves and I don’t have a pot exactly like hers.  So I tried weeks, maybe months trying to duplicate her tea at home.  But it never tasted the same.  Until one day I actually came close.

Oh, and by the way, I commented to my friend about just loving her tea and she gave me a big box of Kenyan tea leaves!  WooHoo!!!

I will share my recipe with you at the end of this post.

I have another really good friend from Nigeria who just makes a simple cup of tea, the regular Lipton black tea and a few spoons of sugar, and it tastes wonderful sitting there chatting and drinking our tea.  I think the secret ingredient there for a good cup of tea at my friend’s house is just her company and the conversation!  MashaAllah.

Meeting with a Moroccoan customer one time at her home I was given a wonderful cup of very sweet mint tea.  There was another time I visited a khataba (matchmaker)…not for me, mind you but just for business…and I had my first ever cup of saffron tea and it was delicious.

So, I guess the secret ingredient to a great cup of tea is good friends and people coupled with great conversation.

Morning Tea

3 cups of water

4 tablespoons of sugar

2 tea bags

3 cardamon pods broken with just the seeds added

1 can (170 ml) of evaporated milk

In a medium sized pot, bring all of the ingredients to a boil.  Turn off the fire (or remove from the fire) until the tea stops boiling.  Bring to a boil again.  Remove from the fire again and then bring to a boil again (the tea needs to boil 3 times).  Strain into tea cups.  Serve hot.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Cup of Tea is Always Better When…

  1. ummadam says:

    Is there anyway someone can get this Kenyan Tea recipe to Michelle and Barack Obama? I think this should be served at the inauguration ball and be a staple in the white house!

  2. MaryAnn says:

    Good idea!

Leave a Reply

